Sewing with Sandy

Well, it may be less than 12 hours before my final project is due, but I’m happy to report I am done. I think I enjoyed this project more than anything else in the class. I think it had a lot to do with my story, and it was actually a lot of fun to report on.

 

My hairstylist sells these cute market bags one of her clients makes. Sandy Leymaster, the lady that makes the bags didn’t intend on making them to sell, in fact she originally made them as a gift to her family and friends. She gave one to my hairstylist, and so many people asked about them that Sandy started making them to sell.

I wanted to write a feature story on Sandy and how she got into making and selling the bags. I contacted Sandy, told her about my project and how I wanted to write a feature on her, she was really excited and invited me to her house to see her sewing room and also so I could interview her. It didn’t seem like a interview at all, we just had a nice chat. She reminded me  a lot of my grandma, and was so kind. I think that’s when you know it’s going well, when it seems like more of a conversation than an interview. I opted just to take pictures of her projects, instead of videotape her, because she didn’t seem like she really wanted to be videotaped, and I didn’t want to make her feel like she had to, plus I wasn’t sure how to videotape it and edit it anyways.

 

I wrote a news article, that I hope to publish in the local newspaper, and I made a audio slideshow showing pictures of her bags, and explaining briefly about Sandy.

 

Overall, I am very pleased with my audio slideshow, and my paper. I think it’s the best I have done in the class, let’s just hope the teacher thinks so too 😉

 

Happy Holidays!!

-Casey-

Leave a Reply

