The Victoria’s Secret Catalog never stops coming

Earlier in the week, I took my dad to donate blood. It was incredibly busy, so I decided to walk over into a nearby bookstore while I waited for my dad. I had been craving to read something inspirational, and upbeat during my hiatus of textbooks. I searched the shelves under every genre, and just as I was about to give up I spotted a light pink book entitled, “The Victoria’s Secret Catalog never stops coming and other lessons I learned from breast cancer” While this book wasn’t necessarily “upbeat” it was sure to be inspirational. The title caught my attention, and I quickly sat in a big oversized overly comfy red chair and began to read. I couldn’t put it down, and before I knew it I was on page 28! I decided I better buy this book.

The only person I knew directly that had had breast cancer was my grandma mary, I was too young to understand what she was going through, but I began to understand what every woman who finds out they have breast cancer goes through. And it sounds sort of corny, but I felt closer to my Grandma after reading this book.

The message I liked most about this book, besides the raw honesty, is the author Jennie Nash’s approach about the matter. Of course it was painful, but she decided to use her experience and share it with anyone and everyone and found that if you share this intimate detail about yourself, you find that you aren’t the only one going through this. She often heard friends and family tell her stories of people they knew that had breast cancer, and although not all the stories had a happy ending, it became somewhat comforting to know there is other people out there going through the same thing.

I think this message can be used for everyone. Whether it be a blog, book, phone conversation, email, facebook, twitter, support group. As long as you are getting your experience out there, you will find someone going through the same thing, and that in itself is comforting that you don’t have to go through something alone.

with love,
Casey

Leave a Reply

